login register   email us
forums > Scout > Weapons defenses

Below lists the thread for this topic.

(add reply)

PosterThread Detail
Trackerdoc
10/30/2012 11:04:42 AM Weapons defenses
So I have been doing jeet kune do for many years and have several years of others trial arts experience. Most of that has been one person vs another and no weapon. I am not saying there has been none, but 99% has been unarmed vs unarmed. That's thousands of hours mostly on hand to hand stuff. Some of it real good, some really not that great.

So when I thought about the reality of most combat on the street, there is a weapon or multiple attackers. So I started looking for some training, not techniques, but reality based training for those situations. So far, every night at this new krav maga class has been a crossfit workout, then when exhausted and in pain, we work on drills against weapons like m-4, knife, club and handgun. Then the techniques are drilled on multiple simultaneous weapon armed attackers. I have to say that is a refreshing change from self defense techniques drilled briefly then getting taught another without multiple attackers.

I am not stopping my weekly jkd class, but I had to add several workouts a week to get in shape so why not something proven like crossfit and Israeli combatives? I am also a fan of the Keysi fighting method and am enrolled In their online university. Their focus on multiple attackers, drills, instinctive responses, elbows and forearms, head protection, shadow figjting and visualization is right on for what I want.
If I had my choice, I would be training sayoc kalii with Harley Elmore and his warriors way martial arts in Texas, but can't seem to get down there. He is the best. What is everyone else doing?

(edit) | (quote)
trackerface
11/1/2012 12:03:50 PM 
Trackerdoc,